Alabama State Board of Respiratory Therapy

ASBRT Renewal Notice 11

2011 Renewal Information

Basic Requirements for Renewal—ASBRT Licenses expire on October 31, 2011.
The license must be renewed prior to this expiration date to continue working in respira-
tory therapy and to avoid additional fees. To be eligible for renewal, a respiratory therapist
must “(a) Hold a valid, active Alabama license; (b) Submit a completed and signed renewal
application and required fee(s); and (c) Meet Continuing education requirements.” [Rule
798-X-5-.08(d)] Please see the next page for continuing education requirements.

Fees and Penalties—The application fee for renewal is $75.00. If renewal is made after
October 31, 2011, it will be classified as a late renewal with a late fee of $50.00 for a total of
$125.00. “Any license not renewed by the expiration date shall lapse. Any individual who
practices with a lapsed license shall be subject to penalties established under Chapter 798-
X-7.” [Rules 798-X-5-.08(10). So, itis very important that your renewal application be
made early to avoid late penalties.

When to Renew—The Board has established July 29, 2011 as the earliest date for the sub-
mission of renewal applications. The license renewal is processed on-line at
www.asbrt.alabama.gov for all licensees. You are encouraged to renew early to allow for
processing time to update the on-line roster and order license cards, etc. You will be able to
print out your renewed certificate upon on-line renewal (for those not selected for audit).
Your pocket license card will be mailed to you prior to the expiration date (if renewed prior
to that date).

On-Line Renewal Application Process—When you go online to renew, the most re-
cent information regarding mailing address, telephone numbers, and e-mail address will be
presented. You should review this information for accuracy. If corrections or updates are
needed, you should make these changes as part of the renewal process. “The applicant is
responsible to supply current mailing address records to the Board.” [Rule 798-X-5-.08(8)]
E-mail addresses are important because ASBRT utilizes electronic communications much
of the time to reduce costs significantly. In the final analysis, cost savings benefit all licen-
sees, helping to keep the cost of renewal as low as possible. If you lack an e-mail address,
we strongly suggest that you check the web site on a regular basis for board updates.

As part of the renewal process you will affirm completion of the continuing education re-
quirements. You will not have to submit documentation of continuing education unless
you are audited. A percentage of applications will be selected at random for audit. If you
are selected for audit, you will be required to complete a “Continuing Education Report
Form” and submit that form with supporting documentation (transcripts and/or certifi-
cates) by regular mail or FAX to the ASBRT Office (the on-line renewal program will notify
you if selected for audit and provide more detailed instructions). An application selected
for audit will not be complete until that information is received. The submitted documen-
tation will be reviewed to make sure that the continuing education report conforms with
the rules and regulations. An application selected for audit will take longer to process. If
you are selected for audit, it is important to get documentation submitted quickly so that
your application can be processed in a timely manner.



Continuing Education Requirements

Most licensees will need 24 hours of continuing education credit accrued during the current licensure period. Individuals whose
initial license date fell after November 1, 2009 must “...validate continuing education prorated to the equivalence of one (1) con-
tact hour for each month of the current license period.” [Rules 798-X-5-.08(2)]

Rules 798-X-8-.02 defines what types of continuing education are acceptable. Basically, the following types of continuing educa-
tion are acceptable:

1. American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) approved traditional (live) courses awarding CRCE credit
2. AARC approved nontraditional (self-study) courses awarding CRCE credit (maximum of 12 hours)

3. ASBRT Provider courses

4. Courses by other approved organizations [see Rule 798-X-8-.02 (5) for a complete listing]

5. College Courses [as per Rule 798-X-8-.02(4)(a)]

6. Successful completion of an NBRC credentialing examination

7. Successful completion of an NBRC advanced specialty examination

8. Advanced life support courses (ACLS, PALS, NRP) (maximum of 12 hours)

9. Preparation and presentation of a lecture approved for continuing education under these Rules

The AARC is a major resource for continuing education. The only self-study courses that are currently being accepted are those
that are approved by the AARC. There are currently over 800 self-study courses available that are approved by the AARC. Many
of these courses are free and are available on-line. The AARC web site also provides members with the opportunity to search for
live continuing education. Instructions for accessing the AARC web site for continuing education information is provided below.
Please note that access to this information is only available to AARC Members. If you are not an AARC Member, you may ask an
AARC Member to look up the information for you.

Use the Rules in Chapter 798-X-8 to guide you in finding suitable sources for continuing education. It is also important that you
collect evidence of continuing education which can include certificates and transcripts. For CRCE credits, the AARC maintains a
perpetual transcript for AARC Members. If an AARC Member wishes to document CRCE credit, the member can enter the dates of
the licensure period and print out a transcript of all CRCE credit earned during the period. There is no charge for the transcript
and the service is always available.

Continuing Education on the AARC Web Site

Obtaining an AARC Transcript 1. Go to www.aarc.org; 2. Click on “Education” in the blue column on the left; 3. Click on the first
choice “CRCE Lookup”; 4. Enter your AARC Member number; 5. Click on “View Transcript”; 6. Enter range of dates to cover tran-
script. For example: 11/01/09 to 10/31/11. With one exception, all continuing education for this renewal period must have been dur-
ing the licensure period of 11/01/09 to 10/31/11. Print transcript if you need documentation of CRCE credit earned.

Finding Nontraditional (Self-Study Courses) Steps 1to 4: as above 5. Click on “View Courses”; 6. Click on lower “Search” tab;
7. View list, or if you wish to search for particular courses, enter Ctrl “F”; 8. Enter words from course title or sponsor name or course
ID number to search for a specific course in the pop-up screen. Strike “Next”; 9. Repeat search as necessary.

Finding Traditional (Live) Courses Steps 1to 5: as above; 6. Click on upper “Search” tab; 7. List range of dates you would be
interested in attending live courses and specify a state; 8. Review or print courses available; 9. Usually there is a telephone number to
obtain information.

Note: Courses listed have received CRCE approval. Often courses are advertised well in advance of obtaining approval. So, brochures
of meetings advertising “CRCE applied for” or words to that effect may not appear on the AARC listing when you do an early search.
You can always check back. As you get closer to the meeting dates, the numbers of offerings usually increases.

AARC members should learn to use these internet tools. There is a wealth of continuing education opportunities available on the
AARC web site including free webcasts to AARC Members and many other inexpensive courses available.



