Alabama State Board of Respiratory Therapy

ASBRT Renewal Notice 2013

2013 Renewal Information

Licenses Expire on

October 31, 2013 Basic Requirements for Renewal —ASBRT Licenses expire on October 31, 2013.

The license must be renewed prior to this expiration date to continue working in respirato-
. ry therapy and to avoid additional fees. To be eligible for renewal, a respiratory therapist
Renew Online at must “(a) Hold a valid, active Alabama license; (b) Submit a completed and signed renewal
WWW-aSbrt-alabama-gOV application and required fee(s); and (c) Meet Continuing education requirements.” [Rule
798-X-5-.08(d)] Please see the next page for continuing education requirements.

w Fees and Penalties—The application fee for renewal is $75.00. If renewal is made after
License Renewal October 31, 2013, it will be classified as a late renewal with a late fee of $50.00 for a total of
include: $125.00. “Any license not renewed by the expiration date shall lapse. Any individual who
e practices with a lapsed license shall be subject to penalties established under Chapter 798-
. X-7.” [Rules 798-X-5-.08(10). So, it is very important that your renewal application be
Immediate made early to avoid late penalties.

conﬁrmatloq of When to Renew—The Board has established July 30, 2013 as the earliest date for the
renewal I‘ecelpt submission of renewal applications. The license renewal is processed on-line at

c www.asbrt.alabama.gov for all licensees. You are encouraged to renew early to allow for
Pa . ent by credit or processing time to update the on-line roster and order license cards, etc. Your license will
debit card be mailed to you prior to the expiration date (if renewed prior to that date).

On-Line Renewal Application Process—When you go online to renew, the most re-
All you need to get cent information regarding mailing address, telephone numbers, and e-mail address will be
started is: presented. You should review this information for accuracy. If corrections or updates are
e needed, you should make these changes as part of the renewal process. “The applicant is
responsible to supply current mailing address records to the Board.” [Rule 798-X-5-.08(8)]
Your License Number BB Bt i e e important because ASBRT utilizes electronic communications much
o o of the time to reduce costs. In the final analysis, cost savings benefit all licensees, helping

The last f:OllI' dlglt.S of to keep the cost of renewal as low as possible. If you lack an e-mail address, we strongly
your Social Securlty suggest that you check the web site on a regular basis for board updates.
Number As part of the renewal process you will affirm completion of the continuing education re-
$75 Renewal Fee (fOI' quirements. You will not have to submit documentation of continuing education unless
on-time renewals) you are audited. A percentage of applications will be selected at random for audit. If you
f o are selected for audit, you will be required to complete a “Continuing Education Report
CEU Information to Form” and submit that form with supporting documentation (transcripts and/or certifi-
confirm you have cates) by regular mail or FAX to the ASBRT Office (the on-line renewal program will notify

g g you if selected for audit and provide more detailed instructions). An application selected
received the reqU‘lred for audit will not be complete until that information is received. The submitted documen-
hours tation will be reviewed to make sure that the continuing education report conforms with
the rules and regulations. An application selected for audit will take longer to process. If
you are selected for audit, it is important to get documentation submitted quickly so that
your application can be processed in a timely manner.




Continuing Education Requirements

Most licensees will need 24 hours of continuing education credit accrued during the current licensure period. Individuals whose
initial license date fell after November 1, 2011 must “...validate continuing education prorated to the equivalence of one (1) contact
hour for each month of the current license period.” [Rules 798-X-5-.08(2)]

Rules 798-X-8-.02 defines what types of continuing education are acceptable. Basically, the following types of continuing educa-
tion are acceptable:

1. American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) approved traditional (live) courses awarding CRCE credit
2. AARC approved nontraditional (self-study) courses awarding CRCE credit (maximum of 12 hours)

3. ASBRT Provider courses

4. Courses by other approved organizations [see Rule 798-X-8-.02 (5) for a complete listing]

5. College Courses [as per Rule 798-X-8-.02(4)(a)]

6. Successful completion of an NBRC credentialing examination

7. Successful completion of an NBRC advanced specialty examination

8. Advanced life support courses (ACLS, PALS, NRP) (maximum of 12 hours)

9. Preparation and presentation of a lecture approved for continuing education under these Rules

The AARC is a major resource for continuing education. The only self-study courses that are currently being accepted are those
that are approved by the AARC. There are currently over 800 self-study courses available that are approved by the AARC. Many
of these courses are free and are available on-line. The AARC web site also provides members with the opportunity to search for
live continuing education. Instructions for accessing the AARC web site for continuing education information is provided below.
Please note that access to this information is only available to AARC Members. If you are not an AARC Member, you may ask an
AARC Member to look up the information for you.

Use the Rules in Chapter 798-X-8 to guide you in finding suitable sources for continuing education. It is also important that you
collect evidence of continuing education which can include certificates and transcripts. For CRCE credits, the AARC maintains a
perpetual transcript for AARC Members. If an AARC Member wishes to document CRCE credit, the member can enter the dates of
the licensure period and print out a transcript of all CRCE credit earned during the period. There is no charge for the transcript
and the service is always available.

Continuing Education on the AARC Web Site

Obtaining an AARC Transcript 1. Go to www.aarc.org; 2. Click on “Education” in the blue column on the left; 3. Click on the first
choice “CRCE Lookup”; 4. Enter your AARC Member number; 5. Click on “View Transcript”; 6. Enter range of dates to cover tran-
script. For example: 11/01/11 to 10/31/13. With one exception, all continuing education for this renewal period must have been dur-
ing the licensure period of 11/01/11 to 10/31/13. Print transcript if you need documentation of CRCE credit earned.

Finding Nontraditional (Self-Study Courses) Steps 1 to 4: as above 5. Click on “View Courses”; 6. Click on lower “Search” tab;
7. View list, or if you wish to search for particular courses, enter Ctrl “F”; 8. Enter words from course title or sponsor name or course
ID number to search for a specific course in the pop-up screen. Strike “Next”; 9. Repeat search as necessary.

Finding Traditional (Live) Courses Steps 1 to 5: as above; 6. Click on upper “Search” tab; 7. List range of dates you would be
interested in attending live courses and specify a state; 8. Review or print courses available; 9. Usually there is a telephone number to
obtain information.

Note: Courses listed have received CRCE approval. Often courses are advertised well in advance of obtaining approval. So, brochures
of meetings advertising “CRCE applied for” or words to that effect may not appear on the AARC listing when you do an early search.
You can always check back. As you get closer to the meeting dates, the numbers of offerings usually increases.

AARC members should learn to use these internet tools. There is a wealth of continuing education opportunities available on the
AARC web site including free webcasts to AARC Members and many other inexpensive courses available.



