MINUTES
Board Meeting Minutes
June 21, 2007

The Alabama State Board of Respiratory Therapy met on Thursday, June 21, 2007 in Montgomery,
Alabama for the purpose of conducting Board Business. Those present were as follows: Fred Hill, Chair;
William Goetter, Member; and Ron Stansell, Member. Those not present were: Linda Moore, Vice Chair;
and Vernon Johnson, Member. Also present were Paula Scout McCaleb, Executive Director, Jessica
Burdette, Licensing Agent; Bettie Carmack, Assistant Attorney General; and Jamie Coston, Clerk.

The meeting was called to order at approximately 10:04 A.M. with a quorum present.

Public notice of this meeting was given on the Secretary of State's web site in accordance with the Open
Meetings Act and was also advertised on the Board's web site.

A motion was made by William Goetter to approve the Minutes from the March 8th Board Meeting as
submitted; the motion was seconded by Ron Stansell, and was passed unanimously by the Board.

A motion was made by Ron Stansell to audit 20% of Licensees during the first renewal period reducing
the percentage to 10% in the second renewal period. The motion was seconded by William Goetter and
was passed unanimously.

A motion was made by William Goetter to approve changes made and reviewed to the Rules and
Regulations of the Alabama State Board of Respiratory Therapy Chapters 798-X-3; 798-X-5; and 798-X-8,
excluding the proposed changes made to student employment grace period as follows:

798-X-3-.02 Terms of Office

(1) The term of office of those members first appointed shall be as follows: Two respiratory therapists
and the hospital member, as determined by the Governor, shall serve for terms of two years, and one
respiratory therapist and the physician member shall serve for terms of four years. Thereafter, the term
of all members shall be four years.

798-X-5-.01

(5) Persons eligible for licensure shall have 365 days after the effective date of the adoption of the rules
and regulations to apply for the respiratory therapy license. 365 days after the effective date of the
adoption of the rules and regulations persons working as a respiratory therapist, unless otherwise
exempt, shall have a valid respiratory therapy license.

798-X-5-.02 Licensure By Credential

The applicant for licensure by credential shall be at least 18 years old, be a high school graduate or have
the equivalent of a high school diploma, hold credentials as a Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) or a
Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT), as granted by NBRC or its successor organization and shall submit:



(1) During the implementation period be granted a license upon verification of credentials; a completed
application

(2) After the implementation period, be granted a license upon verification of credentials and showing
proof of 24 hours of continuing education credits over the previous two years meeting the requirements
set forth by the Board; and required fees

(3) Submit a completed application and required fees and proof of 24 hours of continuing education
credit, meeting Board requirements, earned over the previous two years.

798-X-5-.06 Licensure by Employment or Work Experience

(1) Applicants, lacking the RRT or CRT credential, who are currently employed in respiratory therapy on
the effective date of the adoption of the rules and regulations shall:

(a) Be at least 18 years old, be a high school graduate or have the equivalent of a high school diploma;

(b) Provide evidence of employment in the administration of respiratory therapy on the effective date of
the adoption of these rules and regulation;

(c) Provide evidence of administration of respiratory therapy under the direction of a physician in the
State of Alabama on the effective date of the adoption of these rules and regulations;

(d) Submit a completed application and required fees; and

(e) Have 365 days after the initial date of implementation to apply for the respiratory therapy license,
the opportunity to apply for a license based on employment shall expire after this date.

(2) Holders of licenses under this section shall be eligible to renew their licenses as are any other
licensed respiratory therapist. Respiratory therapists who were issued licenses during implementation
based on employment or work experience shall be eligible to renew their licenses as are any other
licensed respiratory therapist.

798-X-5-.08

(4) Failure to renew prior to the expiration date of the current license will result in an additional late fee.
Licenses may be renewed up to 90 days after expiration date. Respiratory therapists will not be
permitted to work as respiratory therapists if their license has expired.

798-X-5-08

(10) Any license not renewed by within 90 days following the expiration date shall lapse. Any individual
who practices with a lapsed license shall be subject to penalties established under Chapter 798-X-7.

798-X-.14



(3) To verify student status for employment Students shall submit verification of employment forms to
the Board prior to working in respiratory therapy., Directors of Directors of accredited respiratory
therapy educational programs in Alabama shall provide current lists of students enrolled in their
programs., or complete "Student Verification Forms" or submit In the case of students enrolled outside
of Alabama, the students shall arrange for a letter certifying a student's eligibility for employment based
on enrollment in a their student status from an accredited respiratory therapy educational program. An
out-of-state educational program may supply a current list of students as a substitute for letters.

(4) Directors of respiratory therapy educational programs shall provide notice to the Board when a
student's enrollment is terminated within 60 days of such termination.

798-X-5-.15

(e) Statutory charges for returned checks shall be paid by the applicant or licensee within ten business
days from receipt of notice to remit full payment pursuant to Ala. Code A§ 13A-9-13.1 (b) (2) and pay
the maximum fee allowed by Ala. Code A§ 8-8-15.

(7) The Board shall set fees and charges annually. At the first of each September meeting of the Board
each calendar year, the previous schedule of fees and charges shall be automatically readopted unless
the Board proposes a revised schedule.

798-X-8-.02

(5) Respiratory therapy related educational offerings as described in 798-X-8-.02(4) approved by the
following organizations and their affiliates listed below will be acceptable for continuing education
credit provided the courses meet minimum time requirements for contact hours as stated in 798-X-
8.01(4) and provided these organizations and their affiliates maintain records documenting educational
programs and rosters of licensed respiratory therapists who attended their programs. Such
documentation shall be retained for three (3) years and made available to the Board upon request.

(a) American Medical Association under Physician Category |

(b) American Thoracic Society

(c) American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation
(d) American Heart Association

(e) American Lung Association

(f) American Hospital Association

(g) American Nurses Association

(h) American College of Chest Physicians

(i) American Society of Anesthesiologists



(j) American Academy of Pediatrics

(I) American College of Emergency Physicians

(m) American College of Physicians

(n) Other professional or educational organizations approved by the Board
(o) Alabama hospitals.

(p) Respiratory therapy programs accredited by CoARC.

798-X-8-.03 Standards for Providers

(1) Hospitals, other healthcare facilities, or professional organizations, or respiratory therapy
educational programs accredited by CoARC, who choose to apply, may be granted provider status by the
Board or Board designee. Provider status may be active for the initial licensure period as designated in
other sections of these rules with April 30, 2008 as the initial expiration date and may be renewed upon
expiration. Failure to provide respiratory therapy educational programs as specified by the Board or
described in these rules and regulations may be a basis for withdrawal of provider status at any time.

The motion was seconded by Ron Stansell and passed unanimously approved by the Board.

At approximately 11:06 a.m. the Board recognized Heather Atkinson and her representative, Stuart
Smith. Heather Atkinson appeared before the Board to appeal the Board's previous decision to deny her
application.

At approximately 11:18 a.m. a motion was made by Ron Stansell to enter into Executive Session to
consider the general reputation and character, physical condition, professional competence, and mental
health of Heather Atkinson, in accordance with Section VII(1) of the Open Meetings Act. The motion was
seconded by William Goetter. The Chair called for a vote of the Board: Voting Aye: Ron Stansell, William
Goetter, and Fred Hill; Voting Nay: 0; motion passed. The Chair announced that the Board would
reconvene in approximately 5 minutes.

At approximately 11:25 a.m. a motion was made by William Goetter to reconvene in open session. The
motion was seconded by Ron Stansell and passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Ron Stansell to accept Heather Atkinson's application for licensure and grant her
Respiratory Therapy License without stipulations. The motion was seconded by William Goetter and
passed unanimously.

The time being 11:38 a.m. and there being no further Board Business, William Goetter made a motion to
adjourn. The motion was seconded by Ron Stansell and passed unanimously.

The next tentative Board Meeting was announced by the Chair for September 13, 2007 at the Board
Office in Montgomery.



Respectfully Submitted,

Fred Hill, Chair

Linda Moore, Vice Chair

Paula McCaleb, Executive Director

Jessica Burdette, Recording Secretary



