Frequently Asked
Questions:

How long will it take to receive my
Ticense?

Please allow two (2) weeks processing
time from the date that an application is
received before you hear a response.

How Many CEUs do I need?

Except for recent graduates, an applicant
must have 24 ceus that were received
within two (2) years before application.

What fees do I pay?

Each application requires the $25 appli-
cation fee, with the required licensure
fee depending on Tlevel; $25 licensing fee
for temporary, and $75 for regular licen-
sure.

I have a temporary license, do I have
to pay the application fee when I
move up to a regular licensure?

Yes, because you are applying for a two
(2) year Ticense instead of reapplying
for a six (6) month Ticense, you will
need to pay the application fee.

What if I have a criminal history?

You can still apply, honesty is the best
policy. There is a section on the appli-
cation devoted to criminal history,
please check what applies and submit a
written explanation as the application
directs.

Can my application be faxed?
A1l appTlications must be mailed or sub-

mitted online. We must receive the

original document and fees.
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Guide to
Licensure for
Respiratory
Therapists

A step by step guide through
the application process and
expectations

Mission

The Legislature finds and declares that the prac-
tice of respiratory therapy in Alabama affects the
public health, safety and welfare of citizens of
Alabama. It, therefore, should be subject to regu-
lation and control, in the public interest to protect
the citizenry against the unauthorized, unquali-
fied, and improper administration of respiratory
therapy and from unprofessional or unethical
conduct by persons licensed to practice respira-
tory therapy.

(Chapter 27B § 34-27B-1.)

www.ashrt.alabama.gov
Phone: 334-396-2332
Fax: 334-396-2384

“Guide to Licensure” is an official publication of the Alabama State

audience to alert licensees to matters of possible procedural, legal,
legislative, and regulatory interest. It should not be relied upon, nor is
it intended to provide legal, insurance, or accounting advice. Licensees
should consult their lawyers, insurance agents, and accountants before
taking any action in response to this publication, as the opinions ex-
pressed herein may be completely altered by the licensees’ actual facts.

Board of Respiratory Therapy. This publication is intended for a wide
Provided by ASBRT




hure.
. Here is a Breakdown of the most common licen- endre
Licensure Facts:

sure application processes and what to know e  Submit the CE Report found on our website, under
and submit for each. forms, with copies of CEU certificates or tran-
There are two levels of licensure; temporary and regu- scripts
lar. Temporary Licensure is a six (6) month license Temporary Licensure.
for recent graduates only, in order to allow them time This b ied for within 30 d *  Recent graduates can use education received as
i i isi i IS ficensure must be applied tor within ays CEU requirements for initial licensure.
in the field, under supervision, while they focus on of graduation. q
taking and passing the national exam given by the License thr'ough Reciprocity:
NBRC. e Required fees: $25 application fee and $25
licensing fee. This is for applicants holding Respiratory Therapy

Regular licensure grants respiratory therapists who
meet the specified requirements to work in the field » Complete paper application or apply online.

of Respiratory Therapy without direct supervision.

Licenses in other states.

e Proof of graduation: This can by a copy of * Submita complete application or apply

The most common ways of applying for regular licen- diploma, official transcripts or a letter verify- online.
sure is through credentials or reciprocity. ing education completion from Program Di-

rector. e Required fees: $25 application fee and $75
The Basics

e Temp Licenses can be renewed one time for licensure fee.

e  Whether seeking temporary or regular licensure, an additional six (6) months. This requires Lett fLi
ot . . [ -
all must apply using E submitting a paper application and a $25 etiers or Licen
b renewal fee. sure Verification

the manual applica- 7.

tion or by applying Licensure by Credentials from each state

online through our licensure is ac-

website, tive or inactive.

Licensure through credentials requires the applicant to

have passed the CRT examination. It does not require Common Mistakes

www.asbrt.alabama.gov continuous membership in the NBRC.

Here are common causes of delay in processing

e Each application must be filled out completely e Submita complete application or apply online. cat
applications:
and submitted with the required fees in order to PP

be reviewed. Incomplete information is a major *  Required fees: $25 application fee and $75 licen- e Incomplete application—applicants overlook

; ing i ; ; sure fee.
cause for delay in processing time. Online appli- date of b|rth, place of b|rth, employer address
CatioNSMEIPICONtIBlE uch delays. e  Proof of passing national exam: This can be an and phone number for current and past em-
e A checklist of required fees and additional infor- official letter of verification, a copy of your score ployment.

mation can be found on our web site under sheet, or verified through the NBRC web site ros-

o Notarization—(for paper applications) many

forms. ter.
times an application is deficient because of
; e 24 CEUs received within the past two (2) years of . o .
SN ARERRIOVERMIEERSEE s can be found under our incorrect notarization. The date the applicant
web site rosters. application. Please see Rules and Regulations

signs must be the same date of notarization.

Chapter 798-X-8 for guidelines or the CEU bro-



